How unconventional data can inform gender-based violence responses

Nora Löhr
Event date 19 May '20 17:00 - 18:00
Event location Online
0 comments
0 likes

PT 8 AM / ET 11 AM / CET 5 PM / EAT 6 PM

Reports of violence against women — particularly domestic violence — have increased in several countries as security, health, and money worries create tensions heightened by the cramped and confined living conditions of lockdown.

Data is playing and will play an important role in ensuring women can access the support and services they need, yet many small organizations are facing questions they haven't before: Can online platforms offer a safe space for women to report abuse without alerting perpetrators? Is it OK to survey by telephone? And how can unconventional resources, such as social media data, help organizations collect necessary information and more effectively respond to the surge in gender-based violence? 

During this virtual event, you’ll hear from two experts working closely to accelerate the response and ensure the safety of women and girls around the globe.

Register here: https://pages.devex.com/gender-data-covid19.html#upcoming-event